ROAD...

detailed biography

The beautiful story of Fawzy, that of a musician between Aladdin and Verlaine, of an exile on stage, of a trajectory rich in creations. With an inexhaustible thirst for meetings, he has never ceased to weave - over the course of his albums and his shows - bridges between music and cultures from the Near East and from here. In this area, Fawzy is a benchmark.

A young musician between Aladin and Verlaine

Fawzy Al-Aiedy was born in Basra in southern Iraq to a modest family in the 1950s. His parents forgot to note his date of birth. The only certainty: he was born between two heavy rains ... Fawzy, he celebrates his birthday on September 6, the date of his arrival in France (in 1971).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

It was at school that he received his first musical emotion, listening to his teacher playing the violin. With his parents, music does not really have the right of citizenship but Fawzy, at 14, manages, not without difficulty, to convince his father to allow him to go and try his luck in the capital, at the École des Beaux. -Arts (music section) where he passes the entrance exam.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Deeming his fingers too short to play the lute, he was forced to learn the oboe with a Czech teacher! (Iraq lacked an oboist for its classical orchestra!). He thus began his musical studies with Western classical music.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In Baghdad, Fawzy discovered the poetry of Arthur Rimbaud and Paul Verlaine, read works of philosophy (Sartre, Debray ...) and, while working with Bach, Mozart or Handel, felt a real cultural shock.

After one year of studies, he obtains from the school director the right to follow in parallel courses in traditional oriental music (theory, singing and oud). He passes very naturally from one musical culture to another.

During this period, Iraq saw a very troubled political period, with successive coups d'état. In Baghdad the army is omnipresent. Fawzy completed his studies at the music school in 1968, the year in which the BAAS party took power. Being the first, he was offered a scholarship to study in Warsaw. But then it became very difficult to leave Iraq. As he works at Radio Baghdad, Fawzy meets, by chance, Sadam Hussein: "He was in civilian clothes, surrounded by his bodyguards and I managed to speak to him. I told him that his law prevented me from leaving the country and to take advantage of the scholarship that was offered to me to study in Poland ... He replied that he was going to help me ... But a week later, I was ordered to go do my military service !".

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Three months after the end of his service, he made his decision: to leave. But where ? For the oboe, there are two "schools": one German, the other French which he prefers. He also chose France for a sentimental reason: his passion for Rimbaud and Verlaine.

Fawzy arrives in France ...

He managed to leave his country and landed in Paris on September 6, 1971, not knowing French but full of hope, the diploma of the School of Fine Arts in Baghdad in his pocket. He returned to the National Music School of Boulogne-Billancourt where he obtained, in 1976, the 1st Prize for Oboe unanimously and the 2nd Prize for Chamber Music.

In parallel with his classical apprenticeship, Fawzy discovered Georges Brassens, Léo Ferré, Léonard Cohen, John Coltrane, Miles Davis. When he left the conservatory, he joined the Orchester des Jeunes de Paris, at the oboe and English horn desks, under the direction of Jean-Claude Casadesus. He stayed there for two years.

“A career in a classical orchestra was not really my life. My dual cultural background put me in front of an alternative: either I became a traditional oriental musician, or I remained a European classical musician. I have found a third way! That of creation, indicated to me by my love of poetry, and whose spearhead would be this duality between East and West. "

An exile on stage, a career that begins

In 1976, Fawzy recorded his first album Silence au Chant du Monde, on traditional Iraqi poetry, then, in 1978, Baghdad . From 1977 to 1985, he participated, with Guy Jacquet, actor, and Hassan Massoudy calligrapher, in the Khamsa group which disseminates the richness of Arab culture through the show L'Arabesque à voir et à lui which combines poetry, calligraphy and Arabic songs. .

In 1983, he became a precursor of what is now called "world music", with his album La Terre , for which he brought together musicians from all walks of life. In 1989, he created the Oriental Jazz, by marrying the swing of jazz with the sensuality of oriental music and produced in 1992 the album Tarab .

At the same time, since 1987, he has regularly made forays into dramatic art and musical theater through his own theater-tale-music or musical theater creations: L'œil du Borgne then Histoire du Borgne et Aladin et la princesse de China with Lucien Melki or creations by directors in which he participates on stage ( The Adventures of Sindbad the Sailor with Antoine Duhamel, Michel Beretti and Pierre Barrat; Sol Soleil by Guy Freixe). It accompanies readings of texts and Arab poets (Mohammed Kacimi, Institut du Monde Arabe).

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In this desire to educate all audiences, he produced records and concerts for children and their parents: Amina in 1981 (Prix Loisirs Jeunes 1982); Dounya in 1988 - Traditional songs for children and the show Dounya - Musical journey for children and adults from 7 years old. Creation in 2006 of the show Noces-Bayna - Traditional songs of France and mirror of Arabia and publication of the album Noces-Bayna at the end of 2009 (Favorite of the Charles Cros Academy and Bravo! Of Trad Magazine) .

Creations develop, through travels and encounters

In 1996 and 1998, his creations (still on tour) Paris-Bagdad Acoustic , caused by a trip to Hong Kong or his duo / trio Oud Aljazira (now Fawzy Al-Aiedy Trio / Duo ), marked a turning point in the musical approach of Fawzy. After the Oriental Jazz, he expressed the desire to turn to more natural impressions, more traditional inspirations in connection with his state of mind at the time.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Fawzy was invited by Gérard Zuchetto to his creations: in 2008 Troubadours Caravane , then in 2012 at Poètes du Sud at the Scène nationale de Narbonne. In 2009-2010, meetings with Frédéric Vérité for the creation Escales Méditerranéennes - Trans-Mediterranean Journey as well as with Dominique Forges (and the Traditional Music Ensemble of Nevers) for the creation Babylone sur Loire - Traditional music from the Nivernais and the Middle East.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

At the same time, a research laboratory has set in motion between oriental music and western groove to lead in 2010 to the creation of Radio Bagdad , during the Festival Les Nuits at the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Strasbourg, which takes us to other regions combining traditional and current music, where rigor and musical aesthetics play essential roles, leaving a large place for the festive side of the new compositions.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In 2006, a first meeting with the oboist jazzman Jean-Luc Fillon resulted in a new creation in 2011 on the desert and its caravans: Privé de Desert - Oriental Jazz.

In 2010, Safy Nebbou's film The Other Dumas was released with Gérard Depardieux and Benoît Poelvoorde in which Fawzy plays the role of the oriental singer with his song L'Oiseau libre and his improvisation on the maquam Nahawend .

In 2011-2013, creation of Ultime Prière - Chants sacrés d'Orient, initiated by the Festival Les Sacitées Journées de Strasbourg (1st world at Strasbourg Cathedral); and creation of Exil mon amour - Music, Theater & Calligraphy with the calligrapher Hassan Massoudy and the actress Catherine Javaloyes for the Strasbourg Méditerranée Festival. In 2012, the Radio Bagdad album was released by L'Institut du Monde Arabe distributed by Harmonia Mundi on which Fawzy sings for the first time a French title, Blues Oriental , to words by the bestselling author Claude Lemesle.

End of 2014-beginning of 2015, creation of Entre deux reeds, the child - Musical & visual show, aimed at early childhood and all audiences, from 2-3 years old to 103 years old! with a staging by Denis Woelffel and animated calligraphy by Hassan Massoudy.

Fawzy Al-Aiedy, citizen of the world ...

"Music is the eternal mistress to whom I entrust my life and with which I share dreams and passion" (Fawzy)

End of 2016 saw the creation of La traversée by the Noces-Bayna Quartet at the Cité de la Musique-Philharmonie de Paris. The concept is very successful. After associating Catherine Faure, of French culture, and Vincent Boniface of Valdôtaine culture (French-speaking and Franco-Provençal minority of the Aosta Valley) with his faithful companion, the Egyptian Adel Shams El Din, Fawzy and his acolytes renewed the repertoire, directed by Jocelyne Jault. The traditional songs of France, revisited, are mirrored by an Arab creation in order to continue the connection and consolidate the East-West bridge.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Then, in 2016-2018, the establishment of an electro-oriental laboratory, a project which acquired its coherence in 2018 with the contribution of the arrangements of Amin Al-Aiedy, under the name of Ishtar Connection . After a first attempt with a DJ, Fawzy meets the Strasbourg beat maker Gaston (Philippe Rieger). The alchemist of the East-West bridges and the alchemist of electronic sounds cross their instruments for the first time in a new project. Gaston's samplers and Fawzy's voice and oud are the central pivot. The magic operates between the ultra-modern musical references of the first and the melodies of the second, between contemporary electronic pulsations, spicy rhythms and traditional oriental fashions. This creation will be the opportunity to transcend tradition and reinvent the link with other audiences.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The notions of tolerance and culture have always governed Fawzy's creative approach. For him, music is the privileged ground where all encounters can flourish. With Ishtar Connection, it asserts its place as a benchmark player in cultural diversity.

Photographs: Jean-Louis Hess, S. Barral-Barron, Bartosch Salmanski

© Musiques en balade 2019

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

Musiques en balade est détentrice des licences 2-1072205 et 3-1072205 d'entrepreneur de spectacles et est affilée au CNV, membre du réseau Zone Franche (réseau des musiques du monde) et du SYNAVI.

Itinéraire...

biographie détaillée

C’est une belle storytelling que celle de Fawzy, celle d’un musicien entre Aladin et Verlaine, d’un exil en scène, d’une trajectoire riche de créations. Avec une inépuisable soif de rencontres, il n’a eu de cesse de tisser – au fil de ses albums et de ses spectacles – des passerelles entre les musiques et les cultures proches-orientales et d’ici. En la matière, Fawzy est une référence. 

Un jeune musicien entre Aladin et Verlaine

Fawzy Al-Aiedy est né à Bassorah au sud de l'Irak, d'une famille modeste, dans les années 50. Ses parents ont oublié de noter sa date de naissance. Seule certitude : il est né entre deux grandes pluies... Fawzy, lui, fête son anniversaire le 6 septembre, date de son arrivée en France (en 1971).

C'est à l'école qu'il reçoit sa première émotion musicale, en écoutant son instituteur jouer du violon. Chez ses parents, la musique n'a pas vraiment droit de cité mais Fawzy, à 14 ans, parvient, non sans mal, à convaincre son père de l’autoriser à aller tenter sa chance dans la capitale, à l'École des Beaux-Arts (section musique) où il réussit le concours d'entrée.

Jugeant ses doigts trop courts pour jouer du luth, on lui impose d'apprendre le hautbois avec un professeur tchèque ! (l'Irak manquait de hautboïste pour son orchestre classique !). Il débute ainsi ses études musicales avec la musique classique occidentale.

A Bagdad, Fawzy découvre la poésie d'Arthur Rimbaud et de Paul Verlaine, lit des œuvres de philosophie (Sartre, Debray...) et, en travaillant Bach, Mozart ou Haendel, ressent un véritable choc culturel.

Après un an d'études, il obtient du directeur de l'école le droit de suivre en parallèle des cours de musique traditionnelle orientale (théorie, chant et oud). Il passe très naturellement d'une culture musicale à l'autre.

 

A cette période, l'Irak vit une période politique très troublée, les coups d'état se succédant. A Bagdad l'armée est omniprésente. Fawzy achève ses études à l'école de musique en 1968, année de la prise de pouvoir par le parti BAAS. Étant le premier, il se voit proposer une bourse pour partir étudier à Varsovie. Mais il est alors devenu très difficile de quitter l'Irak. Comme il travaille à Radio Bagdad, Fawzy rencontre, par hasard, Sadam Hussein : "Il était en civil, entouré de ses gardes du corps et j'ai réussi à lui parler. Je lui ai dit que sa loi m'empêchait de quitter le pays et de profiter de la bourse qui m'était offerte pour étudier en Pologne... Il m'a répondu qu'il allait m'aider...Mais une semaine plus tard, je recevais l'ordre d'aller faire mon service militaire !".

Trois mois après la fin de son service, il prend sa décision : partir. Mais où ? Pour le hautbois, il y a deux "écoles" : l'une allemande, l'autre française qu'il préfère. Il choisit la France aussi pour une raison sentimentale : sa passion pour Rimbaud et Verlaine.

Fawzy débarque en France...

Il réussit à quitter son pays et débarque à Paris le 6 septembre 1971, ne connaissant pas le français mais plein d'espoir, le diplôme de l'École des Beaux-Arts de Bagdad en poche. Il rentre à l'École Nationale de Musique de Boulogne-Billancourt où il obtient, en 1976, le 1er Prix de Hautbois à l'unanimité et le 2ème Prix de Musique de Chambre.

 

En parallèle à son apprentissage classique, Fawzy découvre Georges Brassens, Léo Ferré, Léonard Cohen, John Coltrane, Miles Davis. A sa sortie du conservatoire, il entre dans l'Orchestre des Jeunes de Paris, aux pupitres de hautbois et de cor anglais, sous la direction de Jean-Claude Casadesus. Il y reste deux ans.

 

"Faire carrière dans un orchestre classique, ce n'était pas vraiment ma vie. Mon double bagage culturel m'a placé face à une alternative : ou je devenais un musicien traditionnel oriental, ou bien je restais un musicien classique européen. Alors je me suis trouvé une troisième voie ! Celle de la création, que m'indiquait mon amour de la poésie, et dont le fer de lance serait cette dualité entre Orient et Occident."

Un exil en scène, une carrière qui débute

En 1976, Fawzy enregistre son premier album Silence au Chant du Monde, sur la poésie traditionnelle irakienne, puis, en 1978, Bagdad. De 1977 à 1985, il participe, avec Guy Jacquet, comédien, et Hassan Massoudy calligraphe, au groupe Khamsa qui diffuse la richesse de la culture arabe à travers le spectacle L'Arabesque à voir et à entendre qui associe poésie, calligraphies et chants arabes.

 

Dès 1983, il devient un précurseur de ce que l'on appelle aujourd'hui la "world music", avec son album La Terre, pour lequel il réunit des musiciens venus de tous horizons. En 1989, il crée l'Oriental Jazz, en mariant le swing du jazz à la sensualité de la musique orientale et produit en 1992 l'album Tarab.

 

Parallèlement, depuis 1987, il fait régulièrement des incursions dans l'art dramatique et le théâtre musical à travers ses propres créations de théâtre-conte-musique ou de théâtre musical : L’œil du Borgne puis Histoire du Borgne et Aladin et la princesse de Chine avec Lucien Melki ou des créations de metteurs en scène auxquelles il participe sur scène (Les Aventures de Sindbad le Marin avec Antoine Duhamel, Michel Beretti et Pierre Barrat ; Sol Soleil de Guy Freixe). Il accompagne des lectures de textes et de poètes arabes (Mohammed Kacimi, Institut du Monde Arabe).

Dans ce désir de sensibiliser tous les publics, il produit des disques et des concerts pour les enfants et leurs parents : Amina en 1981 (Prix Loisirs Jeunes 1982) ; Dounya en 1988 - Chansons traditionnelles pour enfants et le spectacle Dounya – Voyage musical pour petits & grands dès 7 ans. Création en 2006 du spectacle Noces-Bayna – Chansons traditionnelles de France et miroir d'Arabie et parution de l'album Noces-Bayna fin 2009 (Coup de cœur de l'Académie Charles Cros et Bravo ! de Trad Magazine).

Les créations se développent, au fil des voyages et des rencontres

En 1996 et 1998, ses créations (toujours en tournée) Paris-Bagdad Acoustic, provoquée par un voyage à Hong Kong ou son duo / trio Oud Aljazira (devenu Fawzy Al-Aiedy Trio / Duo), marquent un tournant dans la démarche musicale de Fawzy. Après l'Oriental Jazz, il manifeste le désir de se tourner vers des impressions plus naturelles, des inspirations plus traditionnelles en lien avec son état d'âme d'alors.

Fawzy est invité par Gérard Zuchetto à ses créations : en 2008 Troubadours Caravane, puis en 2012 à Poètes du Sud à la Scène nationale de Narbonne. En 2009-2010, rencontres avec Frédéric Vérité pour la création Escales Méditerranéennes - Voyage transméditerranéen ainsi qu'avec Dominique Forges (et L'Ensemble Musique Traditionnelle de Nevers) pour la création Babylone sur Loire - Musiques traditionnelles du Nivernais et du Proche-Orient.

Parallèlement, un laboratoire de recherche s'est mis en route entre la musique orientale et le groove occidental pour aboutir en 2010 à la création Radio Bagdad, lors du Festival Les nuits au Musée d'Art Moderne et Contemporain de Strasbourg, qui nous entraîne vers d’autres contrées alliant musique traditionnelle et actuelle, où la rigueur et l’esthétisme musical jouent des rôles essentiels, laissant une large place au côté festif des nouvelles compositions.

En 2006, une 1ère rencontre avec le jazzman hautboïste Jean-Luc Fillon abouti à une nouvelle création en 2011 sur le désert et ses caravanes : Privé de désert - Oriental Jazz.

En 2010, sortie du film L'autre Dumas de Safy Nebbou avec Gérard Depardieux et Benoît Poelvoorde dans lequel Fawzy joue le rôle du chanteur oriental avec son chant L'Oiseau libre et son improvisation sur la maquam Nahawend.

 

En 2011-2013, création d’Ultime Prière – Chants sacrés d'Orient, initiée par le Festival Les Sacrées Journées de Strasbourg (1ère mondiale à la Cathédrale de Strasbourg) ; et création d'Exil mon amour - Musique, Théâtre & Calligraphie avec le calligraphe Hassan Massoudy et la comédienne Catherine Javaloyes pour le Festival Strasbourg Méditerranée. En 2012, sortie de l’album Radio Bagdad chez L’institut du Monde Arabe distribué par Harmonia Mundi sur lequel Fawzy chante pour la première fois un titre en français, Blues Oriental, sur des paroles de l'auteur à succès Claude Lemesle.

 

Fin 2014-début 2015, création de Entre deux roseaux, l'enfant - Spectacle musical & visuel, en direction de la petite enfance et tout public, de 2-3 ans à 103 ans ! avec une mise en scène de Denis Woelffel et les calligraphies animées d'Hassan Massoudy.

Fawzy Al-Aiedy, citoyen du monde…                                      

« La musique est l'éternelle maîtresse à laquelle je confie ma vie et avec laquelle je partage rêve et passion » (Fawzy)

Fin 2016 voit la création de La traversée par le Quartet Noces-Bayna à la Cité de la Musique-Philharmonie de Paris. Le concept rencontre un vif succès. Après avoir associé Catherine Faure, de culture française, et Vincent Boniface de culture valdôtaine (minorité francophone et franco-provençale de la Vallée d’Aoste) avec son fidèle compagnon, l’égyptien Adel Shams El Din, Fawzy et ses acolytes ont renouvelé le répertoire, sur une mise en scène de Jocelyne Jault. Les chansons traditionnelles de France, revisitées, sont mises en miroir d’une création arabe afin de poursuivre la connexion et consolider le pont Orient-Occident.

C’est ensuite, en 2016-2018, la mise en place d’un laboratoire électro-oriental, projet qui acquiert sa cohérence en 2018 avec l’apport des arrangements d'Amin Al-Aiedy, sous le nom de Ishtar Connection. Après une première tentative avec un DJ, Fawzy rencontre le beat maker strasbourgeois Gaston (Philippe Rieger). L’alchimiste des ponts Orient-Occident et l’alchimiste des sons électroniques croisent pour la première fois leurs instruments dans un projet inédit. Les samplers de Gaston et la voix et l’oud de Fawzy en sont le pivot central. La magie opère entre les références musicales ultra-modernes du premier et les mélodies du second, entre les pulsations électroniques contemporaines, les rythmes épicés et les modes traditionnels orientaux. Cette création sera justement l’occasion de transcender la tradition et de réinventer le lien avec d’autres publics.

Depuis toujours, les notions de tolérance et de culture président à la démarche créative de Fawzy. Pour lui, la musique est le terrain privilégié où peuvent s’épanouir toutes les rencontres. Avec Ishtar Connection, il affirme sa place comme acteur de référence de la diversité culturelle.

Photographies : Jean-Louis Hess, S. Barral-Barron, Bartosch Salmanski